Minimum commitment times?

Spare_Rib

Lantern Swinger
I am interested to know whether potential recruits are told their minimum time to serve during the recruitment process? I can’t seem to find any guidance on the RN website (shocker), or using my best friend Google. Can any newbies/CAs shed any light?

photface

Lantern Swinger
I was. Although I’m not technically a ‘new’ recruit. I was told after three years I can put my 12 month notice in. I was also briefed on exactly which contract I’d be coming in on etc.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

From the RN website:
https://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/-/medi...s/reference-library/br-3-vol-1/chapter-53.pdf

Ratings can leave within 6 months of first joining providing they have served at least 4 weeks.

Once phase 2 training is completed (length varies between branches), there is a 2.5 year Return of Service. Certain in-service qualifications can extend this - details in the BR.

For most Officers the RoS is 3 years from completion of INT(O).

Spare_Rib

Lantern Swinger
From the RN website:
https://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/-/medi...s/reference-library/br-3-vol-1/chapter-53.pdf

Ratings can leave within 6 months of first joining providing they have served at least 4 weeks.

Once phase 2 training is completed (length varies between branches), there is a 2.5 year Return of Service. Certain in-service qualifications can extend this - details in the BR.

For most Officers the RoS is 3 years from completion of INT(O).
I know where to find it; I’m curious as to whether we advertise it. As in ‘the Navy doesn’t have to be a job for life’ as some people may believe? Just wondering whether this might put some people off? Is Generation Z (which one are we on now?!) still only interested in ‘toe-dipping’ careers and therefore put off an apparent long term commitment? I know I’m at risk of becoming an apologist for poor CNR performance here.........