Mine Warfare branch

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by Kings_college_student, Mar 26, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

Firstly I should introduce myself. I am a student at King's College London in the War Studies department. I have a particular interest in Naval History and the use of reserve forces.

I am investigating the Mine Warfare department of the RNR. I am after some broad answers to some questions, or pointers as to where I can look for information. I am struggling to find resources which answer these questions:

- When RNR personnel have been deployed in a MW role in recent history e.g. Op Telic, Op Corporate. Does anyone know? Going back say 25 years.

- What are the skills and qualities required for mine warfare officers and ratings?

- Does the RNR perform any MW activity alone or is it primarily done to supplement the full time RN?

Of course, I do not expect anyone to reveal anything they should not, but I would be grateful for any assistance with my research.

Upon completion I will post a link to my work.

Many thanks

2. Muppets, one pace forward, March!!!!
  3. FlagWagger

FlagWagger Book Reviewer

Well prior to the disbandment of 10 MCM in 1993, there was a dedicated squadron of RNR manned minesweepers; the book published in 2003 to mark the RNR centenerary covers some of the ground about how the RNR developed this role and how the role has changed since then. From a personal persepctive, I can remember an advertising campaign for the Reserves back in the late 1980s which stated that the RNR provided the majority (something like 80%) of the RN's minesweeping capability. In my time on RNR sweepers, I only took part in exercises - the sweepers of the late 80s had a very specific war-role that was not required during GW1.