Merchant Navy to Royal Navy

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Navtaff, Jul 28, 2016.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone,
    I'd like to apologize in advance as this post may turn out to be a tad lengthy.

Firstly I'd like to explain my situation; I am currently studying a course that will qualify me as an officer in the Merchant Navy (3rd/2nd mate) and have been for the last 2 years. However after much thinking and consideration (and various reasons) I have decided that I feel I would be better suited to the Royal Navy. Regardless of these thoughts I still intend on completing my course.

I applied for the Royal Navy earlier in life when I was 16 (I am now 21) and passed the basic seamans test however decided to withdraw my applicaction as I felt at the time I wasn't ready to go to sea.After this I continued to work in various dead end jobs. I currently only have GCSE qualifications, and have at least C's in 8 subjects including Maths, Science and English; I also have maritime related certificates such as STCWs, ENGs etc. Upon completing my training I will possess a HNC Nautical Science and CoC:Unlimited.

I want to join the Royal Navy because I want to challenge myself further both mentally and physically; and at the same time I want to gain skills that transfer well to shore side jobs. I know now , after working at sea that I am suited to a seagoing occupation and and ready for life at sea. I understand that it is usually the other way round, Royal Navy transferring to the merchant navy.

This leaves me with some questions...

Is there any transfer type service from merchant navy to royal navy ?( I couldn't find anything.)