Medical Query

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Sailor98, Jun 4, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, i'm new to this, although have been reading the website for a while!
    I had my first medical back in march, where i was made TMU because i have a condition in my left eye called Duane Syndrome. It means my left eye does not move outwards. My vision in my left eye has been corrected with glasses and i can see clearly out of my right eye. The doctor at my first medical required more information from my GP. The letter was sent to the SMO. I am supposed to have a medical next thursday but was emailed by my careers advisor and told not to go as the doctor will send me a letter with the outcome instead. Has anyone experienced anything like this before, and if so how long did it take, just wondering on whether i will receive a letter next week or will have to wait longer, thankyou [​IMG]
  2. Yeah I experienced the same. It's what they refer to a "paper medical" they just evaluate all the information received. My AFCO advised me before I received any letter (that said, I did contact him and he said it does say medically fit on his system, just was just waiting for a letter from the examiner)

I wish you the best of luck.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. thankyou so much! Was yours for an eye problem or something else? Good luck to you too (if you're not in already) :)
  4. Mine was Asthma, had it when I was a child. And thanks, yeah I leave in July.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. good luck with training :)!
  6. Hi there,

I have been off the asthma register for 7 years.