Medical Cadetship + RMR?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by UKUSUK, Feb 3, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a 23 year old grad. about to embark upon a 5 year undergraduate medicine course in September, and am planning on applying for a medical cadetship for the last 3 years, and a bursary for the first 2 years.

For the first 2 years I'd like to get involved somehow. I would love to do RMR for the experience and to go for the green beret before I qualify so I can have the opportunity to work with RM when I'm a medic. I could do this for the first 2 years of my course, but, depending on timing, probably wouldn't have completed the commando course by the time my cadetship would begin (start of 3rd year). Would the RN be ok with me continuing to do RMR for years 3-5 while being a medical cadet?

2. Whilst not wishing to totally dampen your enthusiasm, I would reccommend that you concentrate on your studies rather than take on RMR training at the same time.
    From start, you rocking up to an AFCO or an RMR centre, to finish, getting your Green Lid will take 18 months of your time.
    This will take extreme self dedication not only to do the physical training but also learn and revise your general training manual.
    Will you be able to give your best to both your med studies and the RMR? Or will one end up getting less attention due to exams, RMR Training Tests looming or even wanting to have a personal life occaisionally etc etc.
    It's your call, but you need to consider the fact of doing too much and burning yourself out.
    Good luck.
  3. Threads merged.
    Bump it if you want, but repetition is the devil's child IMO.