Discussion in 'History' started by Stripey_G, Jun 1, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Difficult to say, I believe only a fellow vet could answer that.
  2. I am a Falklands vet myself and personally don't think it's right to do this, but as I say, the man has his reasons....
  3. Ultimately they are his to do with as he wishes.
  4. I've just asked him why he is selling them, I hope he answers.
    Personally I think its a very sad world if a Serviceman (ex or not) has to sell his medals :( although I do agree with Maxi.
  5. I sold my medals to an unknown buyer when Ibought myself out in 1986 after 12 years. I included three photos (including the two in the Gallery which I posted under my old name of RM2PhD,) with my medals which increased the price somewhat. If I had known they were making 'An Ungentlemanly Act' I would have waited until that came out and included the Video or DVD since I'm played in that film by Richard Graham. I used the money I received to pay the fees for my Access course before going on to university. I've always wondered who bought them. I don't necessarily want them back but I'd like to meet the person who has them. Of course, since finding out about my daughter I do now have a few regrets about selling them. But that's life, I suppose.
  6. janner

janner War Hero Book Reviewer

Can you now apply for duplicates, saying that you "lost" the originals??
  7. My LSGC (presented 1968) has my ship's name in addition to my personal details. From PO Irving's description, his doesn't.
    Is this now the norm? If so, does anyone know when the change was effected?

8. You beat me to that Whitemouse...was just going to post the same info!
    There are a few sites around that deal with replacement medals..just Google "replacement medals".... :thumright:
  9. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator