Marine Engineer Submariner Interview!

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by ross, May 24, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright people,

As you can see from topic heading I have a question re the interview for a etme(sm).

At the moment im studying for my interview so im trying to find out as much as I can re what a marine engineer submariner does.

I know they carry out all the routine maintenance, make or repair components and operate the pumps, steering gear, power generation equipment but what else do they do? should I be going into more detail?

Thanks for any help.
  2. Scrub the lower level and come fwd and think they can have scran in their ovies because "it's a maintenance period". Then go to sea, or fly out fifth watch and go in to a nice 1 in 3/1 in 8 watchbill!!

Oh aye, and man the fwd systems, reactor systems, secondary systems, quite a lot of responsible stuff!!

But they are all still scruffy arsed stokers!
  3. Dont know if you have already seen this post by ninja stoker but its really useful for the interview:

Where were you born, where else have you lived, who's in your family, who lives at home with you, Your home life, What does Mum and/or Dad do for a living, what about your brothers & sisters, your Family's health, family support for your application, any trauma experienced & your reaction to it. Whether you have a partner, how many house moves you've had, how you re-settled, what you do to help at home, how you get on with your family, whether you have dependent children. What health are your family in- oes anyone depend on you to look after them, are you a carer, What do you do to help around the house, Who does your washing & ironing, have you holidayed away from your family, How mature are you?