Marine Engineer Officer questions

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by Butterworth, Jun 5, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I am an engineering undergraduate interested in becoming a MEO on board a submarine. I have attended the normal careers presentation, but I still have a few questions.

Firstly, I am studying a degree in general engineering, of which the first two years include mechanical, electrical, fluids, etc. However, I have opted to do mainly electrical, information and control options in my third and fourth years. Will this significantly hinder me in pursuing a marine engineering role, when my academic choices would perhaps better suit a WEO or Information EO?

Secondly, what is the time scale like for becoming a chartered engineer with the RN?

Thirdly, the careers advisor at the RN presentation said that you join simply as an engineering officer and are then assigned to a particular branch, with some consideration for your preference. I fully accept that the navy's needs must come above my own, but I would like to know how likely you are to get your preferred career option. If I request to be a MEO on board a submarine, am I likely to be allocated to this job?

The presentation also said that the average duration for a submarine operation is 3-4 months. What is the normal time between going to sea on operations?

Finally, I would like to ask some financial questions. Do you pay for accommodation and food during training at BRNC and HMS Raleigh, and if so, roughly how much? I was also told that subsidised accommodation is provided at your base- again, roughly how much is this? Perhaps these should be common-sense, but I like to make sure.