Marine Engineer Officer Career change

Evening gent, ladies,

I was wondering if current/past serving members could offer some advice.

I am a engineer (3 years post graduation experience in subsea offshore operations) and have constantly had the thought of joining the RN.

I have spoken to friends/family and the usual "why would you give up all that money" blah blah comments are fired back at me.

Does anyone recommend joining as a ME Officer? The AFCO obviously shows the great sides of it but I feel their answers to my queries are one sided.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

SheffGruff

Midshipman
To get useful advice from the forum about being an MEO you should tell us what it is you want to get from a military career and what's attracting you to the RN and being an MEO specifically. Those who have served/are serving as MEOs will then be well placed to offer advice on whether the job matches your expectations and ambitions.

Assuming what you hear on here doesn't make you run a mile then just do it and start the joining process. Don't expect that process to be quick or efficient.

If you don't join you will forever wonder about what might have been. If you join and hate it then you can leave, just make sure you know in advance at what point you commit to a long return of service.

Evening SheffGruff,

Thanks for the reply.

I want an engineering career where I feel I am contributing to something greater. The guys in the AFCO and friends who are in the RN have a real passion for it.

There are several key points for me leaning towards the MEO role, in the RN specifically:

- RN has a long heritage and attracts high calibre individuals. The opportunity to work along side like minded people
- from what i have read, an MEO looks after the welfare of those he manages aswell as being an engineer
-structure to progression and promotions are actively available if I put the effort in
-opportunity to travel, living a life where I live and breathe my job