Mail: 21/04/11: Letters: ""Why Not Mention The Good Things Our Navy Does?"

Discussion in 'Current Affairs' started by soleil, Apr 21, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. "As a soon-to-be ex-member of HM Forces, thanks to the Strategic Defence Review, I am getting a little peeved with the newspapers having a go at the work I have been doing for the past 22 years.

The unfortunate shooting incident on the submarine HMS Astute was a one-off, but it has given the media the ammunition, as it were, to start having a go at all things Royal Navy.

The policy of letting pirates go is not one that the commanding officer of HMS Cornwall made by himself. He works to rules of engagement that are set out by politicians.

What the media ‘forgot’ to mention was that the guns and equipment used by those same pirates were disposed of and the pirates were released in such circumstances that there was no way they would be returning to their pirate grounds any time soon.

I have conducted the same anti-piracy patrols on two of Her Majesty’s ships in the past few years, both of which are being scrapped before their time this year, one of which was HMS Cornwall herself. Also not reported is that the couple from Tunbridge Wells were warned not to sail their little yacht in that area, yet they ignored all advice. Can the taxpayer be expected to fund protection of holidaymakers who were warned not to proceed, but carried on anyway?