Looking to join but need some help/info

Hi

So I'm looking to join the RNR in the new year, I should of joined as a regular but now I have a family etc not ideal.

I've read through a lot of posts on here and I just would like some help.

I work as a sales executive and as such work a rolling rota of every other weekend off

My issue isn't attending week night trianingn which is understand is minimum 12 nights-I may be wrong

My issue will be juggling work family etc and commiting to the weekends

What are the guidelines on not being able to meet the minimum training?

Also can you claim fuel expenses to your unit? My local unit is approximately 30 miles away and wondered about travel expenses

Sorry for the massive post and any help would be massively appreciated

Kind Regards

Yes, they'll pay your fuel to and from the unit.

It's not 12 nights, it's 12 days with each drill night being a quarter day. This is the bare minimum to get bounty, it's at the CO's discretion and usually they require you to complete x amount of training in a given year for the bounty. If your unit knows your circumstances they might change your requirement accordingly.

Outwith the drill nights you'll need to complete 2 weekends away, a 1 week weapons course and a 2 week confirmation course at Raleigh to reach AB, you will get plenty of notice for these. Some can crack it in 6 months, others it takes years. (If you go officer there's some extra fiddly bits).

Kelvin is spot on:
You do get a milage rate from your PLACE OF WORK to the unit, and then unit to home (if you travel from work direct to unit) - though they don't pay the first few miles - I think its either 3 or 9.

In your first 18 months, when in "basic training" try to attend the training nights as often as possible, (plus you get paid for it), and it is 1/4 of a day's pay + travel.