Looking to join, but leaving the police...

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by noelweller, Jul 23, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello virgin post, I'm 26 years old and 6 months I've been a serving police officer for 6&1/2 years and I've become very disillusioned with it. I've many colleagues(ex-forces) who have recommended the navy.
    Ive looked around and I feel the envy would be a good option.
    I wanted to join as an air crew man but 6 months too old.
    Does anyone have any alternate recommendations for which I could look at that are not too far from aircrew?

Noel

novice.... Ta!

Last edited: Jul 23, 2014
  2. Join up as anything, fail your killicks course and become a Reggie (Navy Police).

Also search PERSEC noel.

PM Reply sent

Last edited: Jul 23, 2014
    • Like Like x 2
  3. You could join as an AC, then you could an aircrew nark like Monty

• Like Like x 1
  4. If your disillusioned with the police I wouldn't bother coming to the spiral of hate and gloom that is the navy. Honest advice.

5. Remedied. I hope you don't mind Danny.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Noel,

If educationally qualified for officer you could look to air traffic control or fighter control (the latter is also offered by the RAF I would add).

And whilst I hate to stay on the RAF theme - you could look into RAF senior NCO (Sgt) direct entry aircrew? I believe the RAF is also offering an air traffic contoller accelerated path to Sgt.

If aviation if your thing the RAF will probably be a better place to be for variety and breadth - that said, these are also exciting times for maritime aviation in the years ahead.

Whatever you decide - for what its worth my advice would be to apply as an officer from the off if you have the qualifications.

7. All this talk of things light blue is making me bilious

• Like Like x 1