Looking into RN career

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Choppie, Apr 2, 2016.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently a computer science student at university, and am trying to keep my options open for when I graduate. One of the careers which has really started to grow on me is working as a computer/communications technician in the Royal Navy.

Unfortunately, I have a bit of a history of asthma. Though I have not had any attacks since I was about 7 or 8, I was prescribed an inhaler last October due to a chest infection, which, I believe, means that I must wait four years before I can apply (life can be annoying, eh?).

While I wait, I was hoping to get an insight to the Royal Navy and what it would involve through the URNU (I don't believe my inhaler prescription automatically disqualifies me from it - please correct if I am wrong!). Would anyone know if applying for the URNU when I have two years left would hinder my application (I know they normally ask for three years, but have heard there is some leniency on this)? Also, would anyone suggest anything else I could be doing in the meantime?

Lastly, if indeed my asthma does come back to haunt me, are there any other roles in the RN which I would be eligible for?

Thanks for the help, and I am looking forward to signing up in 2019 if all remains well!
  2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Welcome to the site.

Asthma? All applicants must be four years clear of signs, symptoms & treatment as you correctly state. Those with a prior history of asthma are going to have an uphill struggle. Besides successfully completing a four week peak flow diary as a pre-requisite, if subsequently claiming a more recent treatment did not present asthma symptoms - you will need qualified medical evidence in support of the claim from the outset.