Looking for some advice.

Discussion in 'RFA' started by Robp140, Sep 1, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all!
    Just joined this forum and it looks like there are some experienced guys on here who might be able to give me some advice on joining the RFA.

I am currently a 4th engineer Officer with Maersk line (container vessels) and have been thinking of joining for a while.The RFA looks like a great career but I was just wondering a few things:

Can you currently apply to join as a marine engineer officer? i've had a look at the royal navy website and it says that the current jobs available are systems Engineer Officers,Deck officers, Motormen and Deck hands.Unfortunately I am not qualified electrically and as for the deck side I think if I seen daylight I would combust! Do you have to start as a motorman?

Also I was just wondering what the lenghth of the contracts usually are?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks

2. If you want to be hated by all in the Navy then join the RFA. They are a very strange bunch. It's full of people who can't adjust to society and have problems with personal hygiene. I know this doesn't help but it may help you in life. If you want to be liked and have friends..... Don't join the RFA.

3. tam

tam

It's not the police he wants to join.

4. I thought the RFA were the civvie skimmers who bring out the suntan lotion to pussers skimmers when they run out, but Rubbers description sounds like a Submariner, confused of Luton.

5. Despite a shortage of junior engineering officers they are not currently recruiting. That may change when/if head office pull their heads out from their arses.

Trips are four months on, a few days shy of three months off.

6. Best advice is to never take advice from people with a post count and probably IQ of less than 2.