Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by GJT59, Feb 23, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

I am a serving RAF Supply Officer and am due to be interviewed next week for a transfer to the RN Logistics branch. My preference is for subs (hopefully bombers) I was wondering whether any current or recent loggies would be able to advise me on whether the branch is recruiting for logs offcr submariners at the moment. Would you recommend the lifestyle?
  2. Depends what rank you are, given the gender mix in the branch then opting for SMs is quite easy.

I'm not a submariner, although I have worked in them quite extensively, so couldn't go into much depth about the logs job. All officers, standfast marine engineers, spend quite a lot of time in the control room watchkeeping though which is pretty good.
  3. Karma,

I am a fg Off with just over 6 years service. Is a stint on subs a good career move?

4. I had a friend in the late 60s who as an artificer was made redundant by the RN His wife worked to put him through university and the next time I saw him he was a Flight Lt engineering officer at Honington. (He also had to pay back his redundancy money).
    Also knew a Flt Lt Dave Lasky on 800 sqdn He was an RAF navigator. Many years later met him again as a Naval Lt Observer on Ark Royal. Great guy known to all as mini crab due to his stature. A nickname that remained even as a naval officer.
    In both cases they change of service did not seem to affect either of them and they soon settled down in their new environments.
    I reckon you'll soon be at home in the sardine can!
  5. You might want to talk to the disappointer then, it sounds like you might be a touch too senior as an SO3, although I don't know what rank the LO in a bomber is. SSNs the LO is usually a mid seniority Lt who has another job under his belt already.