Life in the RN?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by MerchantSeaman, Nov 20, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm a deck officer in the merchant navy, looking to join the RN as a warfare officer. I've been down to the recruitment office and asked around, had a quick interview with the officer there (haven't actually applied yet)

Anyway, to cut to the chase, I'm just asking if any of you would share your experience of naval life, whats the food like onboard, whats the accomadation like? Any serving (or ex) warfare officers who would be willing to talk to me? I've got all the good parts from the recruitment office, now i'm looking for the reality ;). How much time do you spend at sea? when you're not at sea... what do you do?

Thanks in advance.

and also sorry in advance if this has all been asked before, i tried searching but didn't find much.

2. Why on Earth would you want to change?

3. Less pay, less leave, less sea time, less exciting places to visit… Other than that.

Personally, I'd opt for the RFA.

4. silverfox

silverfox War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

RFA would be a less painful transfer - almost seamless in fact.

5. Seaweed

Seaweed War Hero Book Reviewer

Smells of journo to me.

6. I've already tried the RFA, they're not recruiting qualified officer at the moment, only taking on cadets. Reasons for wanting a change, there are many.