Life after the mob

Discussion in 'The Quarterdeck' started by Sharkey, Nov 8, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Seen a couple of comments about looking for work on leaving the mob,Sumo being treated like shit in the job centre,never been out of work myself, after the mob I went after electrical jobs and got some offers but the pay was crap, low basic and the rest made up with bonus payments for productivity etc, so first job was making three piece suites paid per suite and was earning roughly double what tradesmen were earning, then wire bashing for a big company moving on and up till retiring.
  2. Sat at the dockyard gate waiting for offers. Got three but had sore lips so went home.
    I worked as a stockman but (don't laugh this is serious) my arse was raw from saddles and hundreds of miles chasing sheep.
    They don't take on the Welsh or Ex submariners for obviouse reasons.
    Lasted 8 months.
  3. I take it stockman was some thing to do with animals in Oz not making gravy in the greasy spoon cafe Tamworth
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Never been out of work at all. Left the mob and straight away joined National Blood Service as a Professional Vampire (no weekends/duty watches) and stayed with them for 15 yrs working my way up into Mangement position ... Job came up in local hospital still with no weekends and this will see me out to retirement ... which having to keep Mrs MG in the style of life she has become acustomed means another 5 years to pensh ...

Friend of mine has just been made redundant after 11 years and is looking for a job in web administration / system analysis (she talks computer gobbledegook) ... says that the local Job Agencies are a right bunch of 5 fingered shufflers who are only interested if you sign on with them for temporary positions as they make money ... if you are after permanent work they don;t want to know!