Lateral Entry with a Chiefs ticket

Hello. Not sure if this has been asked - I’ve had a scan and couldn’t spot anything.

I’m currently a Chief Engineer on the commercial side of life (unlimited tickets etc) and am applying to join RFA.

Fully prepared for rank drop and so on. That’s not the issue.

I’ve been at sea 17 years and have been senior Officer for the last 7-8 years on various vessel types and sizes.

Is it likely I will have to do the full BRNC? Got my RT when I go on leave in a couple of weeks, then interview some point after that I guess.

Also I’m 34 and i’m Gyming 4-5 times a week and really struggling to get my run times down to the 11 ish minutes. I play very amateur rugby still and am a forward - and built like it also.

Any help would be appreciated. Also, how much about the RFA will I get asked about? I mean I have an understanding about what roles it fulfils and so on, but will I be expected to do silhouette identification and armament knowledge?

Cheers in advance for any advice.

AJ

Random

Lantern Swinger
Is it likely I will have to do the full BRNC? Got my RT when I go on leave in a couple of weeks, then interview some point after that I guess.

Also I’m 34 and i’m Gyming 4-5 times a week and really struggling to get my run times down to the 11 ish minutes. I play very amateur rugby still and am a forward - and built like it also.
The RFA does a short course (1 term) at BRNC, similar in a lot of ways to what the RN Docs and the RN Senior Upper Yardsmen (Senior Rates to Officer) do. Whilst there are physical components to it and its best to be as fit as you can before going, you do not have to reach the standards required by the RN for their trainees as our standard is the ENG1 not RNFT. What the PTIs and other instructors at the college want to see is people trying their best, pushing their limits and not coasting.