just wondering really

Discussion in 'The Corps' started by MarkBunt, Dec 9, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. not just for the marines but all Armed Forces why do only Officer carry Pistols and not the soliders ? i know there a pistol thread already but doesnt answer my question

2. A pistol is a defensive weapon. A rifle is an offensive weapon. British forces always strive to be as offensive as possible.

3. I carried a .38 Webley when I was cox'n of a minesweeper during the Borneo campaign. I was a Petty Officer.

4. only when drunk! :D thus slurred jack 8O *&$%£"!

5. is it true that in the navy you have to shoot with the intention to kill and not just deform, maim, and stop the enemy? i heard quite recently its strongly frowned upon to only use a just amount of force.

6. I was taught that if you pointed your weapon at someone the intention should always be to kill. Don't know if it has changed since I left.

7. the idea is to shoot at the centre of the target mass. shooting someone in a limb is wild west fantasy stuff.
    BTW the 5.56 rifle is designed to wound. the philosophy being a wounded man takes 3 people off the battlefield. the old L1A1 was designed to rip apart.

8. Ask yourself this question.If you see Johnny Raghead running towards you with his AK 47 spitting death,do you;

a.Shoot his kneecap,so he can the blow either you or your oppo up with the hand grenade he has in his pocket when you check him out?

b.You blow his brains or Chest out so hes dead as a dodo and out for the count.
    Draw your own conclusions!

9. A rifle is a heavy bit of kit,so for an Officer to lug one around it tantamount to Manual Labour!And we cant have our Officer classes doing Manual labour can we????? :lol: :lol:

10. Im hoping to become an officer an i would rather go throught the same as everyone else!