Joining up questions and info

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Freddie89, Nov 6, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, I've recently decided that I would like to join as a engineering maintenance technician, I just have a few questions.

I would like to discipline in electrical but on the website it does not state if I can choose this, will I be given a choice of electrical or mechanical, do both, or have the decision made for me?

My other question is, what is the minimum time you can serve in this role? I don't want to be in the RN for 10+ years but its something I do want to do.

Also, what kind of qualifications will I receive? Is it a NC/ND to a HNC/HND job or is it just City & Guilds?

Any replies will be appreciated.

2. bump ???????

3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

What's up Freddie, didn't you believe my response previously :icon_smile: ?

Minimum service is 10 weeks Initial Naval Training + 7 months Standard Initial Training Period, (SITP -
    The period of time that must be completed which when combined with service at least 2½ years’ is the period after which, an individual may submit 12 months notice to leave.) In other words, assuming you're not back-classed, you'll serve approximately 52 months if you don't opt out in the first 6 months.