Joining the RN at 28

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Decrepitman, Aug 8, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi. I would like to join the RN as a logistics officer. I have a (good) degree and a post-grad qualification (in law) in addition to other experience. However I know that I'm pretty old for the Navy and realistically I'd be 28 at BRNC. I know that technically it is not too old but what is the general feeling toward people who join that late? What do people think of them? Would it be a mistake?

Also website says promotion to Lt-Commander is by merit but I presume you must do at least 8 years service as a Lt beforehand? Thanks.
  2. Decrepit

Something I would suggest is ringing the Careers Enquiry line on 08456 07 55 55 today and getting a place on an Initial Careers Presentation, thus kick-starting your application. The sooner you start, the better.

PS How old are you now? What do you have as A Levels or equivalent?

Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  3. Thanks soleil, I'll do that. I was 27 in June. I got AAB at A-Level.
  4. I'm 28 and go to Raleigh in October. Don't let your age put you off. At PRNC there were quite a few guys over 25 and there was a guy who was 34. Remember you wont be the only 28+ person joining up plus its hardly ancient is it.
  5. Thanks that is heartening to hear! Good luck. I know that it really isn't all that old but the military in general (from what I gather) seem to think you're a bit past it if you are over 25.

Interesting. How do people make their promotion more likely? Is it general assessment over the years combined with an examination? Sry for all the questions thought I'd just get some out of the way.
  6. Right Time, Right Place, who you know, pure look, who you have and have not pissed off and at least be reasonable in your job.