Joining the Navy with a criminal record?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Andy, Feb 26, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey everyone,

I'm currently studying a degree at preston uni (english teaching and spanish), but it's just not for me at all. Anyways, long story short I decided I want to quit uni and train to become a marine engineer in the RN

Unfortunately I got into a drunken fight a few weeks ago and apparently took out my swiss army knife (which I always carry anyway). I ending up getting arrested and charged with common assault and carrying an offensive weapon (due to appear in court next week). I didn't actually use the knife, and didn't assault anyone, despite the charge. I've never been arrested before, and I'm hoping I can prove to the judge that it was just a drunken mistake, which it truly was.

What I want to know is, will this affect me joining the Navy? Honest to god, I ain't a bad lad. I simply made a mistake, but I'm really worried I'm gonna get refused from joining the Navy because of all this crap.

If I did get convicted / a criminal record, would this stop me from joining? or would they look at the big picture? What is going to happen?

Sorry for the essay but it's really worrying me, any advice at all would be appreciated

Cheers,

Andy

2. Is Sharia in force in Preston? If so then you will have some problems signing on won't you?
    PM Thingy, he deals with this sort of thing

3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

If found guilty it will almost certainly delay your entry until the penalty is spent - your AFCO will advise how the penalty will affect you.