Joining the Navy in the 1960's

Hi,

I am a student currently writing a screenplay. It tells the story of a man named Jimmy, who is 65 in the present day but served in the Navy from 1960-1970.

So as to be correct with my details, I was just wondering if anybody could help me out.

I need to know what the process would have been for a 15 year old boy in Manchester enlisting in the Navy in 1960, and what type of training/work he would have set out to do. Also, it would be helpful to know what the uniform was like.

If anybody could help me out at all I would be hugely grateful.

Thanks so much,

Kate.

bollotom

War Hero
writergirl said:
Hi,

I am a student currently writing a screenplay. It tells the story of a man named Jimmy, who is 65 in the present day but served in the Navy from 1960-1970.

So as to be correct with my details, I was just wondering if anybody could help me out.

I need to know what the process would have been for a 15 year old boy in Manchester enlisting in the Navy in 1960, and what type of training/work he would have set out to do. Also, it would be helpful to know what the uniform was like.

If anybody could help me out at all I would be hugely grateful.

Thanks so much,

Kate.

Strangely enough I am from Manchester, joined the navy at 15 and a half in September 1959:)
Most, if not all, Northerners went to HMS Ganges at Shotley GAte near Ipswich, Suffolk.
There is a website dedicated to HMS Ganges.

HMS Ganges Association

Seaweed

RIP
Book Reviewer
Sounds rather a daunting task from the point of view of achieving the appearance of authenticity from a zero base. My experience of reading anything to do with the RN is that people who haven't worn a blue suit can NEVER get it right.

I cant help you with any of the details as it wasn't me era. Good luck with your screen play I hope it will be good enough for someone to turn it into TV one day.

Rumrat

War Hero