Joining the Navy at 16

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Tramp_kidnapper, Jan 20, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hello all! im new to rumration so be kind :p
    anyway i want to join after school and really am looking forward to this adventure, any tips on what i will do at raleigh or what the first few weeks will be like?

Thanks all in advance :)

2. Try this link for advice on raleigh.

Recruit diary

Good luck

WN

3. The best thing you could do is pop into your nearest careers office and they will show you a DVD all about Raleigh and the Careers advisor will be able to answer any question you have.

Supermario

:p

4. I joined at 16 yrs, I strongly recommend you dont, but not knowing your background I cant really relate my comment to your situation.
    Why you ask?
    1. Your colleagues will be going out on the pull, when you have to be back onboard for midnight, would this happen at home if you are in college?
    2. Weekend travel will be a chore as you cant drive, you might be lucky to cadge a lift from someone who may live near you.
    3. Financially, A year and half of earning wages without it being pensionable.
    4. Being way out of your depth, if many of your fellow recruits are significantly older than you.
    5. Missing out being a proper student with your mates, and enjoying life as a 16/17 yr old, this wont happen in the mob.

Personally I regret not going to college and then joining as an 18 yr old. But good luck whatever you do ;)

5. I don't know what your educational standard is so my advice will be fairly broad.

If you have several GCSEs at grades A to C then continue with your education and attempt to obtain several GCSE A levels relevant to the RN.
    Then apply to become an officer.