Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Joining Process - Officer

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here however I have been using the site for useful information regarding the joining process. This post is intended to give a basic outline of what to expect during the recruitment process for Officers. I will account my personal experience (so far) of the recruiting process and try to be as helpful and informative as I can for those who are interested in applying to join the RN. I am quite far into the application process and I am waiting for a date to attend AIB and my FAT's.

After completing my A Levels early due to Covid-19, I registered my interest to join the Royal Navy as an Aircrew Officer Pilot at the beginning of June. They processed my application quite quickly and within a few days I was required to fill out my medical questionnaire, opticians report and I also received my Officer Applicant Questionnaire. The medical process may take a while to be processed as you will have to attend an eye test and send your medical form to CAPITA so patience is key (which applies to the whole process). The questions on the OAQ are quite similar to the questions you will be asked in your SIFT interview (I will talk about this later). As I was going through the joining process during lockdown, I had to print the forms, fill them out and scan them back to my recruiting officer.