Joining date change?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Bwebb94, Oct 21, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey I'm new to this sight so please bear with me

Ok I have finally received my joining date start of this month for ETWE to start in June, now I'm am so happy to finally have a date but it's so far away and I did my RT in august 2014 and was told it was a 12 month wait from RT to training but I suffered some delays, but 8 months from now seems a long time for a trade I was told was undermanned

So what I would like to know is there much chance of my joining date coming forward at all?

Thank you for any help

2. Sounds like your 'delays' put you in the processing slow lane but at least you now know where you stand. Christmas is round the corner and the months will fly by after that.

3. I guess so just caught me by surprise, thank you for taking time to reply

4. Change to submarines? They seem to have shorter waiting lists.

5. I know but I have my heart set on the surface fleet to I thinks it best I stick at it and just wait for it :)

6. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

The frustration is appreciated but the waiting times are in a permanent state of flux unfortunately. Those who passed the recruit test the same day as you for the same branch, but without delays, will have been allocated ahead of you, as will those who passed the recruit test after you but without delay.

The waiting times are governed by the number of applicants and the number of training places for that branch.

For those applying as ET(WE) today, the wait is around 14 months test to entry. ET(WESM) is 6 months.

Interestingly, ET(WE) CIS is 4 months and when ratings in this branch reach Leading Rate, they complete exactly the same course and are equally as qualified as ET(WE) Leading Rates.