Joining back up as an officer.

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by robs25, May 29, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good evening all,

I served 5 years on submarines leaving the RN in 2009 on good terms. I am currently working as a Police officer but strongly considering joining back up but as a Warfare officer, Submarines. I worked as a rating in the warfare branch and feel I have the life experience at 33 to serve well as an officer. Can you advise if there is any way I can go about enlisting as an officer at 33 as the website says 17-26. It is worth pointing out that while serving my Divisional Officer was pushing for me to get my papers raised but I stupidly never pursued it as my wife was expecting a child.

Any advice or assistance would be appreciated.

2. Get yourself up the careers office. There's all sorts of stuff going on with regard to shortages. Best get it from the horse's mouth.

3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Ello, ello, ello. Evenin' all, 'constible'.

Hmmn, knocking-on 33 in a 26 zone, eh? Whilst you may be strongly considering it, you are are even more strongly ineligible at first glance, unfortunately.

In short - no....but, you can apply to rejoin as a rating and if educationally qualified & deemed viable, apply for Officer from within the service after joining. You may well have the life experience that makes you eminently suitable to be put forward for AIB but the RN would probably want a "test drive" before giving you a shot.

Snags? You may well be invited to undergo ratings basic training again and have to undergo branch training first.

Advice - expect the worst, hope for the best.

Good luck.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Frankly, and I'm being polite, do you want to be a 40 year old subbie?