Joining as a rating with a degree

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Blackberry, Apr 19, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

Is it possible to join as a rating with a degree and work up to Chief Petty Officer/ Warrant Officer within a couple of years? Are you able to join as an Able rate then be considered for senior rates and be promoted to CPO from AB?

I have a degree but I'm not interested in the occifer type.
  2. No.

Next question.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Only if you have a degree in fine art. That will get you straight in as a Chief Writer.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Blackberry, as you have a degree you could always take the fast track route, estimated time AB to WO1 around 22 months.
  5. Everyone has a degree these days. My Sister was unemployed for a bit, so she decided to go and get a degree.

She got a 2:1.

Now she works in a call centre on minimum wage with a load of other ***** who also have degrees.

What makes you so special you ******* zip sniffer?
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Wow.

What branch are you applying for thread starter?

7. So your sisters a **** then?
  8. Yes. Next question. My killick diver had one.
  9. But your Killick diver didn't make chief or WO2 in a couple of years, or did he? :grin:
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Wow, would be interesting if he's got through the RT. Maybe he's going pongo...

Whats a zip sniffer anyway?
  11. Is the fast track true or a wind up?
  12. I had to wait about 4-5 years after I joined up but I managed to get three degrees. 'When will I see you again'. Here I am 40 odd years later and I've lost the record so back to square one again with no degrees!!! :grin:
  13. I can't talk about what I think your talking about on an open forum. Sorry.

Good luck with your search. (may they find you^_~)
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Blackrat