Jobs in Civvy Street

Discussion in 'The Afterlife - Resettlement and Jobs' started by chieftiff, Jun 19, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. chieftiff

chieftiff War Hero Moderator

After reading a post last night reference pay in civvy street I got to thinking. I know of probably a hundred jobs out here that a Senior Rate could step into tomorrow which would pay at least what he/ she was on in the service and yet I didn't when I was in. In fact I got quite anxious after putting my notice in - but there was no way I was about to stay in the shower of shite oufit that used to be the FAA, no offence. I fell into this line of work and it's good.

I thought it may be appropriate if people who have left, posted a quick dit about their employment sector and the opportunities that are available which would benefit those thinking or about to leave.

I'm a Project Manager, there are hundreds of different disciplines for project management out here so I won't bore you with my particular sector. I fell into this line of work and did little prep for it in service and none as part of my resettlement, in fact I applied for one job and was given another, my employer then paid/ pays for my PM training; they, not I, saw my potential for this work.

I control my own hours but am contracted for 35 per week, most PM's work like this, I define how many hours I work on each project, I currently have 3 projects and have just prepared a project plan and contract for another. My average working hours are nearer 45-50 than 35 but I'm salaried so no overtime but I pretty much decide when I do those hours, the industry is target driven.