Jet fuel in the FAA

MTC29

I am an aspiring writer of aviation fiction and I would like to know what jet fuel is called (slang) in the FAA. In the American military, virtually every motor fuel is called "gas," but I don't picture the pilot of a Buccaneer (the story is set 30 years ago) approaching a tanker and asking to take on petrol. Small details in phraseology can make a huge difference in how a story is received. Thank you in advance for any and all assistance.

Waspie

War Hero
Hi there.
In piston engined aircraft, the civilian term was CivGas. We, (FAA) called in AvGas, (Aviation Gasoline)
Gas turbines engined aircraft. We, (FAA) called it Avtur. Or F34 to give it its NATO code. Aviation turbine fuel or Jet A1 in civilian airfields
Gas turbines aircraft could also use Avcat or NATO code F44. Has a higher flash point so was primarily used on aircraft carriers
All info available on the net so not classified.
Hope this helps.
Most Mil aircraft would arrange fuel in advance especially at civilian air bases. We used to call it PPR. (Prior Permission Required). Routine mil base to mil base would still require advance warning so that refuel crews could be ready to accept visiting aircraft.

MTC29

Thank you gentlemen.
Hi there.
In piston engined aircraft, the civilian term was CivGas. We, (FAA) called in AvGas, (Aviation Gasoline)
Gas turbines engined aircraft. We, (FAA) called it Avtur. Or F34 to give it its NATO code. Aviation turbine fuel or Jet A1 in civilian airfields
Gas turbines aircraft could also use Avcat or NATO code F44. Has a higher flash point so was primarily used on aircraft carriers
All info available on the net so not classified.
Hope this helps.
Most Mil aircraft would arrange fuel in advance especially at civilian air bases. We used to call it PPR. (Prior Permission Required). Routine mil base to mil base would still require advance warning so that refuel crews could be ready to accept visiting aircraft.