It's bone question week. Ask 1 and get the next 1 free.

Discussion in 'Diamond Lil's' started by NZ_Bootneck, Jun 3, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi I'm new at this sort of thing so be gentle with me, just to get the ball rolling, here's mine.
    Why do so many prospective recruits nowadays seem to be nearsighted/farsighted/blind/asthmatic/missing a limb and or grey matter ? Do Playstations and Xboxs encourage the halt and lame into thinking that because they can whip through Medal of Hono(u)r in World Record time that they are suitable material to serve in the Paramarine Recon Ranger Battalion?
    Answers on a postcard to....
  2. We all started somewhere and a recruiter once let you in the door!!

3. I'm gonna guess it's because we live in a H&S-driven world now. Gone are the days when you can have minor accidents and live; in fact my boss tried to send me to A&E one day with a (okay, fairly deep) papercut. It's ridiculous. If you have a tummy ache it's OBVIOUSLY appendicitis/bowel cancer/morning sickness. What's indigestion anyway?

But I'm going off-topic. It's also about money. I was told three different things by three different opticians before my RN medical, and the two more commercial places decided my vision was so awful I would have to buy the most expensive glasses they had to offer. Funnily enough, the private doc told me I had nothing to worry about, and the RN agreed.

I don't have a playstation. I wish I did. Medal of Honour sounds like a grand idea.
  4. I longed to be a steam train driver.

Beeching put an end to that career before it started! TAWT! I remember the time when you could jump on a train day or night at anytime. Now we have there may be one on Thursday!! If it is not vandalised.

It is a sad fact that for many of us old timers we are fitter than our kids!!!