Is this really the best we can do?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by PompeyPusser, Sep 25, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'd heard rumours about bumpy rides in the recruiting process, but it's getting ridiculous. I'm an ex-regular Lt who decided to join the RNR. I went to an RNR open day as required and they were very helpful but since then virtually nothing has gone to plan:

A) Firstly, after I filled in the online forms it was wrongly recorded as an RMR application and I had to phone to correct them.

B) My paperwork was then sent to the wrong AFCO, several hundred miles from where I live.

C) I was then told that I couldn't join as an officer as I apparently don't have GCSEs, so I pointed out that not only do I have GCSEs, A Levels and a degree, but I've been an officer before, so I'm pretty sure that I'm qualified (as listed on my application).

D) Once the AIB and NPT(Res) had approved my rejoining I was told that I needed to apply for SC, even though I had one lasting for ten years last winter. I did as I was told.

E) I passed my medical but the doctor forgot to record it, meaning lots more emails between AFCOs to decide whether I was fit or not. Eventually they asked the doctor.

F) A month later I got a phone call from a different member of AFCO staff to say that I had to apply for SC, so I mentioned that I both already have one and have applied for another as requested.

G) The Recruiting Officer emailed me a few days ago to say that I will soon be joining a holding class to wait for basic training to begin. When I suggested that that might not be what I needed he agreed and said he'd forgotten that I was a rejoiner.