Is There a Doctor in the Building!

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by cantona, Oct 6, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi there, im a bit new to rum ration so apologies if im putting this up in the wrong place..

basically I got a letter a couple of days ago from the aviation medical centre saying I have fallen well below the required results in my Vitelograph for FAA pilot in my AIB Medical. This shocked me as I see myself as quite a fit 19/20 year old and passed all other cardio and respiratory test with good grades, to follow this up I had a private Vitalograph (breathing test) today at a local hospital and came out with well above average results for my age/sex/weight/height/race etc. I was wondering is someone with knowledge on this medical subject could give my results from todays test a once over and see weather they are within FAA limits and if the navy results are the same weather there has been a mistake on the navy side of things.

Sex: male, Age 19 Height:182cm weight 71Kg
    Results: VCMAX =5.17, ERV =1.95, FVC =5.17, FEV1 =4.89, (FEV1/FVC =94.64), PEF= 11.52, PIF= 5.52,

I know this looks like a lot of random numbers and letters so im hoping someone can make them a little clearer and tell me weather they look good enough to pass the aircrew medical and weather the navy have made a mistake on my other results
    much appreciated.
  2. Sorry to hear that mate, I'm sure someone will be along relatively soon and will explain the algebra to you, either here or possibly via PM
  3. Sorry to hear this.