IP addresses

Discussion in 'Bloody Computers' started by IDOITDEEPER, Jan 20, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. It was recently insinuated on this website that I was someone whom I was not. This was due to us both sharing the same IP address. Could some IT geek please explain why and how this is possible? This would obviously clear up a misunderstanding by some in respect to IP addresses. I am no expert in this matter but I believe it has something to do with static and dynamic addresses.

Many thanks in anticipation

IDOITDEEPER

2. You will of course be talking about a network where you can have a duplicate address for two pieces of hardware and that can cause conflict.

On the internet however it is a practically impossible thing to have. As your ip will be assigned from the range alloted to your isp by your modem, the chances of having a duplicate is nigh on impossible.

What you are meaning is having the IP that someone else used to have. They may have been really naughty and have had blocks put on them all over the world, but when they release that IP, the blocks don't get lifted, so the next person to be assigned that IP could have trouble.

3. Could also be an AOL thing.
    I've heard that IP's can be shared amongst AOL users. :)

4. NMC

Many thanks for your explanation which I am attempting to inwardly digest. So when you log off your PC the IP address in effect changes when you next log on? As it is merely assigned from a group of IP's assigned to your ISP?

Therefore you could be assigned an IP address that someone else was using in a previous session and it would then appear to others say in an internet forum and reading previous posts that two people had the same IP address? You could also suffer any repurcussions in respect to IP banning undertaken by the previous user of that IP address?

Many thanks
    IDOITDEEPER