Interested in marine engineer submariner

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Matt676, Jan 13, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey I am interested in joining the military, have been for a few years and now want to go through with it. I work as a plumber and heating engineer out here, and fancy a change and hopefully a more technical job. Which I believe learning to be a marine engineer will offer this as they work on the nuclear reactors etc. I am also interested in being an aircraft engineer in the army, can any one offer any pros or cons for either choice?
  2. I can only speak for the ME(SM) world but you won't actually play with the reactor as such until you get to Senior Rate level although you will be involved with it, obviously.

To be honest, nuclear boats are hard work for the ME's as it's a saturated steam system that needs lots of maintenance and there aren't that many of you.

You'll close up in sea watches for test flashes (at least 2 days for a test flash) after a hectic maintenance programme whilst the rest of the ships company go home. When you shut down it's time to fix any emergent defects to get ready for sailing. You'll close up into sea watches at least 24 hours before sailing and still be there at least 12 hours after shutting down (assuming your not duty first night in).

If you want to go ME(SM) try and get to be Fwd Staff which is all the systems not involved with propulsion i.e. Steering and hydroplanes, HP air, hydraulics etc. best of both worlds but you will still have to qualify aft.
  3. oh the wrecks has jumped in (edited for form lol)

Ill leave this bit

... I recon if the reactor goes tits up your fcked"...
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  4. Just like being a Sonar Bender then!!