Importance of sleep.

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Jervis, Oct 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright chaps,

Recently i've been trying to get my body clock from 12am to 6:30am, but its easyier said than done in my opinion.

Just wanted to ask you guys and girls, what your normal night sleep is like and how you either cut yours back or how people in the Royal Navy cope who are lazy barstools?

Im a delivery driver whilst waiting on my joinning date, which means i get in at half 9-10 and make dinner then which might have somethin to do with why i feel like something horrible the next morning?

Share yourself completely lol.
  2. Sleep when and where you can, 6 on/6 off watchkeeping will sort you out :lol:
  3. Become a submariner, then you wont worry where your body clock is, just be thankful you still have one.
  4. I remember 6 on 6 off defence watches. An absolute bastard!! :(
  5. Try it for a 3 month deployment..takes ages to get back to normal hours when you get back
  6. Asking the wrong person!! Ex Harrier Woo.
  7. So none of you guys that replyed have trouble with 6 hours sleep? im 20 and its difficult lol but its only day 3 so early days
  8. When watchkeeping you can keep the forenoon dogs and middle, or the afternoon first and morning, or 6 about or Westcountry watches, or even watch and watch. Diffent ships, different cap tallies.
    the accepted norm is I believe eight hours, some manage on less, so everyone has their own sleep requirements.
    Naval discipline soon sorts you out, and this alone will stand you in good stead for the future. I work a couple of ten hour nights a week and have no trouble adapting into a regular sleep pattern, your body and mind become accustomed to it.