If an application for officer has failed, can you still pursue a career as a rating?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Dicky13, Apr 29, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

Basically I just have a quick question. I am in my second year of university and have wanted to join the navy since 16 as a rating. However, through gathering decent qualifications, got pushed to progress and further my academic qualifications.
    So now, I am in the position to apply as officer, I do not intend to fail or I wouldn't bother. However, I understand the process is a long and difficult one. I have done a lot of my own research, visited the careers office, read the website, Naval News etc. and talked to relatives/friends, who have been or are currently in service. I feel that one way or another (officer or rating) I would like the life experience, skills and qualifications that comes with being part of the RN.
    Therefore, basically I wanted to know that if an application as an officer does fail, can you be offered a rating job? Or is your motivation for the job questioned?
    Sorry about the long winded explanation around a simple question.
    Any answer would be really appreciated :)

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Yes .......
  3. If you are unsuccessful in your officer application you will not be 'offered a rating job', as it's not some sort of consolation prize. If you have the requisite RT scores and academic qualifications (if required) then you may well be recommended to join as a rating, in which case you will have to apply separately for your chosen job.

I'm going to call the Crayoning Police and see if you're in breach of the regulations, although it is true he did ask for any answer.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. wet_blobby

wet_blobby War Hero Moderator

Plenty of people in the lower ranks have degrees.