I just don't get it lol.

Discussion in 'Nearest & Dearest' started by ej2009, Nov 9, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Right, I'm new to this so I'm not too sure if I'm even supposed to post stuff like this on here anyway lol.

Here goes..

My fiance is currently in the Royal Navy. He's supposed to be going on a 6 month deployment in February. I have a few concerns with:

Holidays I need to take
    Flights needing to be booked
    And when the hell his dates are going to be confirmed

At the moment its all gone quiet on his ship of where there going, how long there actually going to be going for and where his 10 day stand off point will be.

I'm just a little worried that I'm currently saving up all my Holidays from work so I'm able to fly out where he has his 10 day stand off.

He spoke to his petty officer a few weeks back and he said that usually when they go on a deployment for 6 months; the dates they go, when they are along side and the countries they are supposed to be going to are confirmed 10 months in advance.

It's all gone quiet at the moment and no one has mentioned anything about it. My fiance reckons it will get canceled.

I'm just wondering if this is a normal thing for the Royal Navy to do?

Hope someone can kinda help me with this.

Thankyou
    Em
    x

2. Yes, it is.

3. Yes it is what?
    A normal thing for the Royal Navy to do.

I'm gonna be so pi**ed off if they end up canceling his tour, I'm not saving up my an/leave for nothing!

4. Exactly. You asked one question and I answered it.

Unfortunately the Royal Navy has to make operational commitments a higher priority than the holiday arrangements of a girlfriend one of the ship's company.

5. I never said that the ship has to take priority over my holiday arrangements.