i dabbled in drugs when i was younger

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by noise, Sep 6, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hello. i am very keen on joining the navy but am worried that giving a urine sample at my medical will prevent me from being accepted. I dabbled in some soft drugs when i was a teenager 7 years ago.
    could anybody offer me any advice?

2. Im no expert on this but if you have not touched it since, and not been in trouble with the police over it you should be fine.

3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Providing you haven't taken drugs in 7 years, it's unlikely you will fail the Compulsory Drugs Test in phase one training.

There's no such thing as soft drugs really. If you have convictions for possession with intent to supply then it's likely to be a no-go.

Good luck.

4. Dont join up the Royal Navy depends on capable People you are a liability
    Man who has lost a leg fine
    Dont insult the guys who have been in for ytears drugs are not accepted over to SGT PEPPER

5. Shippers, he probably hasn't done anything different to 90% of other teenagers. If we only recruited saints we wouldn't have any Armed Forces at all.

If you've not touched anything for 7 years you'll be fine.

6. Given the hysteria before any tests (newbies threads ) poor sod is probably refering to paracetamol.

7. Could also be Nails again.

8. That's what I was thinking. Can't even be bothered wasting my time with a sarcastic reply.

9. As soon as i saw the thread title it smacked of bollock chops!!!

10. Angrydoc is monitoring.....

11. 3 lead of 12???
    :wink:

12. witsend

witsend War Hero Book Reviewer

The only thing missing is "It was Rohypnol", and the follow up question, "I now walk funny, will this effect my marching?".

13. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator