Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Emnavy

I am going into training in the next couple of months and I am really struggling with the press ups, I have been doing press ups and working out for about 2 years now and seen no progress, I don’t know what to do as everything I seem to do just doesn’t work I’ve tried doing press ups on my knees and inclines and I can sort of do them but no normal press ups any ideas on what to do?

Emnavy

I can’t do any press ups with my arms locked into my side but with my arms out I can do about 4-5 but they are difficult

Alfacharlie

War Hero
I can’t do any press ups with my arms locked into my side but with my arms out I can do about 4-5 but they are difficult
Exercise’Lat pull downs’ in the gym. Light weight, high reps. Also, your core exercises should be improved. Plank etc.

The secret to doing press ups....
Keep doing them.

ETA: Blimey, I think you may struggle in basic if you haven’t got this squared away.
Good luck though, I wish you all the best.

improve your chest and tricep with weights if you can or just do some push up with hands further apart until you are comfortable then move on to the way the military does it properly. if you are struggling to do push ups i would recommend to improve your core strength a lot. (if that doesn't help watch some vids on youtube on how to improve)

Emnavy