how to book into hms nelson?

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by hattyket, Oct 25, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am an URNU student and i want to book into nelso on a saturday night to see some people in portsmouth, is this possible? when do i have to do it by? and how do i go about doing it?
  2. Your unit should be able to give you the number for the mess office, call them up and ask.

Alternatively directory enquiries will be able to give you a number, although you might end up chasing around the houses a little to get the right person.
  3. I'm not sure but I don't think you can just bimble in and use the place like a hotel.
    I think you need an actual excuse for staying there, but it would be worth giving the hall porter/reception a ring to ask. They will be able to tell you and even book you in if possible :)
  4. Visiting Portsmouth for a meeting with x ships staff ;)
  5. I've stayed at Nelson before on a "social" visit. I was doing the Great South Run afew years ago and used Nelson as a place to stay. Explained the situation to my unit PSI and he was happy to book some accommodation there for me. :toilet:
  6. 023 9272 0120 for the FSL Service Desk which should then give you several options. Select as follows:

Accom & Sports (option 2)
    Accommodation (option 1)
    HMS Nelson (option 2)
    Non-JR Accommodation (option 2)

Ideally, do it as early as possible as there is a demand for accommodation in the area. They'll need your service number, rank and purpose of visit. You may have to pay increased charges for a non-duty visit.

ps - as the number is available publicly, I'm not breaching any security policies.

Edited to correct options and mongy grammer!