How can I boost my application?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by disaster_manager, Jun 3, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I've applied for Mechanical Technician - Marine Engineering in the subs but I'm guessing competition is strong at the moment, so what could I do to boost my application? Currently I have a degree - 2.1 in Disaster Management- but I don't really have any relevant hands on experience with anything mechanically oriented. Can anyone recommend any courses which I could take or anything I could do further?

2. Degree in Disaster management?? You are destined to be the FOSTIE to end all, distex with you as a WO will be no fun at all.....

Assuming you are interested in the mechanical side might I suggest local college courses in fitting and turning, sheetmetal, car maint or somesuch that will get you a bit of time with tools, other than the ones in here....
  3. If you don't have any engineering tools /workshop of your own , find a local
    museum or similar that has old steam engines/aircraft/old cars etc. They usually are looking for volunteers, turn up & start helping.Many blokes who do this sort of thing are retired & have years of experience, well worth it.
    If you want a good, simple and readable basic book on metalworking skills,go for ," The Ladybird book of Metalwork".I kid you not .
    You can usually find copies for sale on ebay , couple of quid or so.
  4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

As stated in the careers publications, prior experience is not essential.

What is essential is passing the recruiting test at a high enough level - particularly in the maths & mechanical comprehension sections which require fairly high scores.