Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

HMS Sultan to be closed, HMNB Devonport to be Amphib super-centre

Bad CO

Admin
The family jewels are certainly vanishing at a rate of knots. Having said that, centralisation has got to be the way forward in terms of efficiency.

As a guz resident I, for one, welcome our new Royal Marine overlords ....

@Tomahawk re: "HMS Sultan to be closed"

Errmm, not entirely true. So in the earthy vernacular of the lower deck, Missy: <<Borrocks!>>

Being a potential RN Officer I'd suggest that you try much harder, please - by reading and digesting the pdf which you so blithely quoted - before making such an announcement typical of an OD's messdeck buzz factory.

Going deep...

Bob L

PS BTW You are not alone, those scare-monglers over at ARRSE are posting similar Horlicks but I'd hoped for better here at RR.

Tomahawk

Lantern Swinger
According to the PDF - Submarine Engineering Training, Mechanical Engineering Training and AIB are all moving. Going off the RN website - only the RN Air Engineering and Survival School remains ... I can't see them keeping the base open solely for that. Especially when Network Rail and EDF Energy have stakes there.

Also scrap the potential :)

According to the PDF - Submarine Engineering Training, Mechanical Engineering Training and AIB are all moving. Going off the RN website - only the RN Air Engineering and Survival School remains ... I can't see them keeping the base open solely for that. Especially when Network Rail and EDF Energy have stakes there.

I can because, as announced, HMS SULTAN will have a much reduced training role thereby allowing the release of several acres for "other purposes" eg freeing land for those much-vaunted civilian housing needs.