HMS Queen Elizabeth New York

Flight deck looks a little sparse...just three choppers, no fixed wing aircraft...bit like a whorehouse with no whores....:). Lads will be looking forward to a memorable run ashore or six! Just hope Jimmy's and Captains defaulters is not too busy, post weekend....:). jossman and crushers will be rubbing hands in anticipation....;) ;)

Last edited:

Seadog

War Hero
Flight deck looks a little sparse...just three choppers, no fixed wing aircraft...
It does look naked but although I have no operational carrier experience but I’m pretty sure that it’s SOP for fixed air rob fly ashore before the carrier enters harbour.

It does look naked but although I have no operational carrier experience but I’m pretty sure that it’s SOP for fixed air rob fly ashore before the carrier enters harbour.
Possibly, but looking back to my time on the Big 'E', remember their always seemed to be a few Buccaneers, Scimitars, Sea Vixens, Gannets etc cluttering up the flight deck, as was the case in visit to the US, late '60's....though stand to be corrected, was not yesterday!

Last edited:
QNLZ has a Commander. The Jimmy is 3 I/C.
You raise an interesting point, and one which I'd never really thought about. Would the Jimmy ( a lieutenant commander) automatically take command in the event that the Captain and Commander were incapacitated? I appreciate that engineers, supply etc are not of the Chosen Branch, but Wings would be a seaman officer with three stripes.

Seadog

War Hero
Possibly, but looking back to my time on the Big 'E', remember their always seemed to be a few Buccaneers, Scimitars, Sea Vixens, Gannets etc cluttering up the flight deck, as was the case in visit to the US, late '60's....though stand to be corrected, was not yesterday!
You are correct and I’m going astern. I’ve just seen a photo of an RN carrier from back in the day in NY with a a lot of jets lined up.

The F35Bs being used for trials don’t appear to belong to the RN/RAF.