High test score...what to do now?

Just had a successful interview and seemed to impress the officer taking it who let me know then and there.

He let me know that I scored 10% more than the score needed for the toughest requirements branch and comfortably at Officer standards.

I'm applying to be a Medical Assistant Rating and am 32 (so too old to be an officer)

I was about to leave feeling pretty chuffed when another officer stopped me as he'd overheard his colleague and tried to convince me to apply for Student Navy Nurse instead and have my degree paid for and a salary from day one whilst I get qualified.

The thought of going back to uni for 3 years really doesn't appeal as I wanna get out at sea asap. I believe as well that when qualified as a nurse I'll be mostly based on shore?

He seemed to turn his nose up a bit at me wanting to be a medical assistant and also said I should consider Communications Technician (which my interviewer was)

Not a bad problem to have but not sure what to do now!?

Personally, I would find out as much as you can about the different options and do what makes you happy. Top and bottom, you will be doing it for another (potentially) 20 years.

I have got ratings with 2 degrees that love being a SEA spec. If that spins your props - then that's up to you.

I mean getting the Adult Nursing BSc is a guaranteed job on civvy street and being paid a salary whilst the navy fund my qualification is a massive pro

I'm drawn to the medical side of things and "helping people" but the guy was very very positive about me looking at CT

I am a Warfare Spec. I joined at 16, because I thought 'The Hunt for Red October' looked cool as f**k and wanted to scream around the North Atlantic hunting Russians.