Hi, perisher anyone?

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by Wake, Dec 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there,

I'm not technically a submariner but am doing a final year project to develop a periscope ranging training simulator for the royal navy, as requested by the CO of HMS Vanguard!
    I hope it's okay to post here. I found this site in my search for enlightenment on all matters maritime

I've made the basic simulator already, so need to start considering training scenarios. I'm vagually familiar with perisher, and want to use it as a basis for the scenarios of my system, but I'm finding it hard to get hold of more info.

So I'd just like to say hello!
    And I was wondering if anybody could tell me a little about the perisher scenarios, or maybe point me in the right direction?

Thanks a lot, and merry christmas!
  2. Hello wake.

I can certainly help - see your PM
  3. Hope I'm wrong but I feel slightly uncomfortable!!!

4. I feel the same, fishing comes to mind, a Journo perhaps?
  5. Hey boats,

Why not ask the CO of Vanguard about perishers, he will have seen many unless he was CO of the skimmer type battlewagon.

6. You're a suspicious lot - rightly so mind you.

To put your minds at rest there is indeed a bit of a project under way - Birmingham University I believe. I think its along the lines of using gaming technology to create Computer Based Training package for Eyes Only training (not exactly a tactical secret although possibly regarded as a black art by some!). Likely to be similar to the current Command Team Trainers that exist in Guzz/Faslane but without the associated hardware (ie on a PC). I've met the professor involved in initially setting up the project that Wake seems to have won as part of his/her course.