Hi guys, just a quick question regarding my eligibility to become an Officer

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by BRF7, Apr 9, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm 22 years old (almost 23). I have a BTEC level 3 diploma (M, M, P) which is 200 UCAS points but I hear that the Navy requires (M, M ,M) from BTEC's. Could somebody enlighten me as to whether this is true or not?

I spent the last few years at University, dropping in and out of different courses without obtaining a degree. This will probably make me look like I'm not serious about a career. However, the reason for wanting to join the Navy is so I can finally dedicate myself to something.

I know I'm more than capable of becoming an officer if given the chance. I'm intelligent and am capable of much more than I've been abe to show thus far. I'm just not sure I really measure up in the entry requirements to warrant a place as an officer.

Do I have any realistic chance of getting in?

Thank you for your help.

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

It is

Really?

Yes.

But not as an Officer.

You're welcome.

3. Where's the logic in that?

I have over the 180 UCAS points they require yet I can't be an Officer because I have a Pass instead of a Merit? Is there no other route to becoming an officer?

4. Yes, there is the possibility of applying for a Commission as a Rating.

5. sgtpepperband

sgtpepperband War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

Take the advice of Gengar: Emigrate to "Eye-Ran", get a degree in nuclear engineering and you'll be accepted into BRNC in no time. Simples!

• Like Like x 1
  6. Ninja_Stoker

The logic is to join as a Rating, prove your worth then apply to become an Officer without the UCAS requirement. If joining as a Rating is beneath you, we probably don't want you.