Hernia's

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by sammysideways, Nov 1, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Im sorry if this is a bit of a bone newbie question. I hope its not, I just really need advice on what to do.

Got my start date on the 9th of November which ive really been looking forwards to. was working out thursday doing weights when I felt a pop from around my groin area. On investigation Im worried that i may have popped a hernia although im no doctor.
    What should I do? Do i go to raleigh and hope all is ok? Im sure I should go to my docs and get checked over but im MEGA scared that my self diagnosis will be right and my date will get moved back alot or I wont even be allowed in at all?

2. But if it is what you suspect you'll be sent home anyhow, having wasted everyone's time and money.

Go to the doctor.

And don't put apostrophies in plurals.

3. Apolagies my punctuation has always been poor.

I suppose that does make sense. Just ill be absolutly gutted as Ive worked so hard for this and now it probally wont even happen.

4. Sorry, I'm a pedantic twat with an apostrophe fixation.

There's every possibility that it's just a strain (I'm no expert), but as I say, you don't have anything to gain by not getting it checked out. Obviously a blow if it is bad news, but you'll be able to come back at a later date surely?

Good luck.

5. Re: Hernias

Hi Sammy

You must go and see your GP on Monday or go to a NHS Walk-In Centre and get a definite diagnosis and then contact your Careers Advisor.

As Guzzler says, if you arrive at Raleigh with an existing injury, you will be sent home.

I know that, at the moment, this won't seem like the best option; however, if you make the journey all the way to Plymouth only to be sent home, you will be terribly disappointed.