Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Here we go again????

broadside

War Hero
I do wish we could rid the world of the likes of Kirchner, Carlos Teves and other irritating little Argie agitators who get right up my snout.

The islands are not called Las Malvinas, they are called the Falkland Islands. They are not Argentinian, they are British. The Argies had a go at stealing them and they didn't get away with it - suck it up and Foxtrot Oscar!

Sheesh!

Waspie

War Hero
The geological info has been common knowledge for a long time, (pre 82.) When down on a patrol in 86 my boss, (a geologist by profession,) took survey charts with him that he acquired from his Uni. They showed the value of the area surrounding the Falklands.

He believed that the whole Falkland thing has been about mineral and oil rights from the start. It is/was just a case of waiting for the technology and political will to retrieve it.

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
It is just a matter of time.

Last time the proposed scrapping of Endurance telegraphed a withdrawal of British interest.

This time selling 74 Harriers to the USMC & lack of operational aircraft carriers may telegraph a reliance on MPA for defence is a strategic folly.

broadside

War Hero
It is just a matter of time.

Last time the proposed scrapping of Endurance telegraphed a withdrawal of British interest.

This time selling 74 Harriers to the USMC & lack of operational aircraft carriers may telegraph a reliance on MPA for defence is a strategic folly.

Yes, very shortsighted - a squadron of Harriers parked at Stanley would be a (relatively) cheap deterrence option (IMHO) - and the island itself is quite a bit harder to sink than a carrier

Waspie

War Hero