Help on AET (Jungley)

Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by Kyle.L.19, Oct 20, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys,

recently went for my Medical,and was declared medically fit, but my eye sight was a VA3, and to be a diver i needed a VA2.

So i had a long think about it and decided to go along with my second chioce as a AET.

Im interested in the area of 'jungley' all i know is that they go frontline? and maintain aircraft there?,

Someone also said you do similar training with marines, and you fly out with them?

Im a bit mixed up in this area and tried to find information on it, it seems a bit vague! Could anyone hav eany information to share on Jungley.

Many thanks :)

2. I have no recent experience, left the mob 15 years ago.

I served on a Junglie squadron as a NAM, the equivalent of an AET.

Great fun. You service the Junglies Sea King 4's etc. You do a bit of Marine training as you will be required to carry the weapon of the day, be it SA80 or whatever, when detached ashore.

Get bladdered and generaly have loads more fun than if you where on a Pinger squadron.

Hopefully some one more recent will be along to update on what happens on todays Junglie squadrons. :thumright:
  3. if you like Yeovilton Iraq and Afghanistan you will love it - they are so stretched these days the fun stuff is all but gone.
  4. Same as waspie here too I am afraid. My last Green machine was a "Wessy 5". The only Seaqueen I worked on was a Mk 1 at Culdrose doing my QM n QS.

There must be some recent ex Junglies here?
  5. My lad is a current "junglie" - had his notice in for 13 months, and to be honest i don't blame him.
  6. 13 months - what the f*ck has he done wrong. can you enlighten and if possible i'll regurgitatew some BR help.

get his DO to get his finger out and sort it out!!!